United Republic of Tanzania

Ministry of Water




National Water Fund is established under the Water Supply and Sanitation Act of 2019. The Fund is composed of the Board of Directors of the Fund and it’s the Secretariat. The Board is accountable for, and oversees the discharge of mandates of the Fund. It is composed of seven members i.e. Chairman, Representative from Ministry responsible for Water, Ministry of Finance, Ministry responsible for Regional Administration and Local Governments, Member with strong knowledge in economics, project management or financing from outside public sector and one representative from private sector. The tenure of office of the Board member is 3 years renewable once. The Secretariat of the Fund is headed by the Chief Executive Officer of the Fund and such number of employees as the Board may determine. It is responsible for discharge of the day to day functions of the Fund.